Whimsicality

This is a piece which I wrote during the speed writing session of my Creative Writing: Playwright class. Basically, speed writing means to write as much as you can in a given amount of time, without lifting your pen off the paper, “even if you start drawing flowers. It doesn’t have to make sense, just write whatever comes to your minds” 🙂

I didn’t draw flowers, of course, but this is what came to my mind in 10mins of writing, which I read aloud in class. Finally I had the confidence to narrate a piece of my own writing. I hope you guys enjoyed it, and here’s an idea!

You can continue the story in a paragraph or two in the comments section, if you want. It’d be fun!

So the words in red are the words read aloud by my professor which we have to use. The rest are up to our own imagination.

Lately, I often dream about being a theme park ringmaster. I play the flute to attract children, whip my lasso at pretty girls and scream and shout at animals. I control the rides with the wave of a staff that Gandalf had and the rollercoasters slow to a stop when I felt angry. I can command the weather at my theme park at will and had a 4 day hurricane at my wish. Yet, children still flock to me…

This morning I wake up to find my blankets wet and crying ringing in my head. There were roaring tigers and lions and screaming of little girls. At the foot of my bed lay a lasso which felt warm at the first touch, as though someone had been gripping on it for a long time just seconds before…

Then, not at all surprised, I got up to dress in my circus suit, took the lasso and headed to my theme park…

Feel free to comment, rate or continue this story in whichever way you want to!!!!

Cheers, Auby

Whimsicality © 2011 by AubyStories. All rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “Whimsicality

  1. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with a few pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is excellent blog. A great read. I will definitely be back.

Leave a Reply

